Terrible Twos at Four Years Old

Just a short one today folks, reflecting on the happenings in our household right now.

My eldest is four at the moment. She didn’t really have a ‘Terrible Twos’ phase of behaviour. She did start to push things, but as always remained in the good books.

Anyway, she eventually turned four and got a new baby sister to boot. What a fantastic year! Little did we know what was in store…

My little angel started to become very competitive for attention and struggled to adjust to sharing the limelight. Discipline is now something we are all having to learn to enable a balance in behaviour. I am finding I’m raising my voice far too often for my liking; combine this with repeating instructions over and over – it’s quite simply the hardest and biggest mental test I’ve ever dealt with.

Anyway we’re standing firm with our attitude to the situation and punishing when needed. It all makes me feel so awful – I know she just wants to have fun and so do we – she’s only four… but we have to nip it in the bud now before it gets out of hand.

So if there’s anyone else out there that’s going through something quite similar then please take a moment to breath and feel calm. They aren’t little for long so enjoy every moment!

I’ve found a small way to keep me smiling and I’d love to share it with you. It’s a calendar that ‘A’ made when she was at Nursery. It’s a special little thing and puts a lump in my throat when I read it – it helps keep me calm and I remember how unbelievably lucky we are to have such a special daughter – see below and read the poem. You can enlarge the image if you click on it.

20150714_002534

I hope you reflect with things for your kids in the same way too. Maybe you’ve got some tips you’d like to share too. Leave a comment if you dare πŸ™‚

Keep strong parents – see you in the next post!

Mark.

Terrible Twos at Four Years Old

Leave a Reply

